Mobile View
Tablet View
Desktop View
22nd May 2018

Twelve SLPP Presidential Nominees Approved by the APC Dominated Parliament!

By a press release (07/05/18)

The Parliament of Sierra Leone, dominated by main opposition APC, has on May 4, 2018 debated and approved 12 SLPP nominees. 


The First Reports on approval was done by the Committee on Appointments and the Public Service, in the Fifth Parliament of the Second Republic and was chaired by the Leader of Government Business, Hon. Mohamed Sidi Tunis. (Photo: Speaker of the House Dr. Abass Bundu).

It consists of twelve presidential nominees to serve in various high offices of State, including the Ministers of Finance, Internal Affairs, Health and Sanitation, Water Resources and Information and Communication. The following presidential nominees have been approved by the House:

1. Mr. Jacob Jusu Saffa - Minister of Finance
2. Col. (Rtd) Simeon Nasiru Sheriff - Deputy Minister of Defence
3. Dr. Alpha T. Wurie - Minister of Health and Sanitation
4. Alhaji Kanja Ibarhim Sesay - Minister of Energy
5. Hon. Edward Amin Soloku - Minister of Internal Affairs
6. Hon. Emma Kowa - Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources
7. Kabineh M. Kallon - Minister Transport and Aviation
8. Ms. Baindu Dassama - Minister of Social Welfare, Gender and Children’s Affairs
9. Dr. Bonapha Jonathan Tengbeh - Minister of Water Resources
10. Mr. Mohamed Rahman Swaray - Minister of Information and Communication
11. Mr. Adekunle Joliiff Milton King - Minister of Labour and Social Security, and
12. Mr. Alpha Osman Timbo - Minister of Primary and Secondary Education

Seconding the motion, Leader of the Coalition for Change (C4C), Hon. Saa Emmerson Lamina, commended the presidential nominees and encouraged them to be efficient and effective in executing their duties.

Contributing, Leader of the National Grand Coalition (NGC), Alhaji Dr. Kandeh Kolleh Yumkella called on the nominees to work towards the realization of President Bio’s agenda for inclusive governance, whilst speaking on the need for collective efforts to develop the nation.

An Independent Candidate from Pujehun District, Hon. Shiaka Sama also praised the nominees and prayed for success in their new assignments.

In concluding the debate, Leader of Government Business, Hon. Mohamed Sidi Tunis commended President Bio for nominating qualified Sierra Leoneans to serve the nation, but cautioned that the expectations of the people are high, whilst encouraging them to deliver in the best interests of the State.

Members of the APC party did not contribute to the debate, but promised to do so in due course. Congratulating the nominees after approval, the Speaker, Dr. Abass Chernor Bundu called on them to live by example and work in the interests of the country, whilst wishing them well in their pursuits.

Courtesy: Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone OAU Drive, Tower Hill Freetown Tel: 077669726/078495023/078426851


1958 -1980


Six Failings of SLPP Government's Inauguration at the Siaka Stevens Stadium!

By Fuad Y. Bangura (21/05/18)

President Julius Maada Bio's Inauguration on May 12 at the Siaka Stevens Stadium has come and gone but more organisational questions remain.

Read more ...


SLPP Party is on Fire! An Advice to President Julius Maada Bio!!

By Angry SLPP Supporter (21/05/18)

Good Morning Mr. President, it is true that power comes from God but don't forget that He uses people to bring it to fulfilment.

Read more ...


Designed by (((alphadalpha)))
Designed by (((alphadalpha))) / WEBHOST DRAGON
Designed by (((alphadalpha)))