Mobile View
Tablet View
Desktop View
15th August 2018

Yaya's Humiliation by the Man City Manager Angers Many African Fans!

By Abu Shaw in London (25/09/17)

Manchester City supporters especially from Africa are disgusted that their star player and the King of African football is being ignored by Man City.


Manager Pep Guardiola recently told the press that he and Yaya understood why he is not playing at the moment. But observers believe there is more to this surprise ommission than meets the eye. (Photo: Yaya and his wife).

As Manager of Barcelona FC, Pep humiliated Yaya by shipping him out of the club. Last season at Man City, Pep repeated the same humiliation tactics by freezing Yaya. Pep only brought him back because of unavoidable injuries to some players. Yaya, a club legend, came back big time and helped his club to qualify for the champions league.

Latest humiliation from Pep was leaving Yaya again out of the champions league team and as press time, Yaya has not even featured for Man City since the beginning of the 2017/18 English Premier League. It is understandable if Yaya is nursing injury or unfit to play, but sources close to him say he is fit and training with the team as usual.

What Pep is failing to realise is the fact that he is not only annoying Yaya and his immediate family, but the entire Africa continent, where Yaya is revered as the only footballer to have won the Africa Player of the Year award four times in a row.

Yaya should also realise that collecting astronomical salary every week would not preserve his respect. Many observers believe Yaya should have left Man City the very hour Pep became manager. But he has still not learnt the sour side of Pep. The ball is on Yaya's court. Stay and continue to be humiliated or leave and get your respect back. Playing for another club for free is far better than being paid for doing nothing and being disrespected this way! Or perhaps, Yaya does not see this as a humiliation! But many true Africans see it differently!

The Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder holds the record as the most crowned footballer of the year winning the award four times consecutively from 2011 to 2014.

The Manchester City player is a real power house on the pitch and has helped Manchester City the Elephants win trophies over the years.

Brief History of African Footballer of the Year Awards Since 1970

The African Footballer of the Year award, was instituted by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) since 1992. But an earlier African Footballer of the Year Golden Ball award was given out between 1970 and 1994 by France Football magazine.

The changes resulted in parallel Golden Ball awards given out to Abedi Pele and George Weah in 1993 and 1994 by the magazine although the CAF sponsored awards for those years were won respectively by Rashidi Yekini and Emmanuel Amuneke, as well as two awards given to Abedi Pelé in 1992.

France Football discontinued the election from 1995 after the European Ballon d'Or - also awarded by the magazine - had been opened to all players in the European leagues.


1970 1st Mali Salif Keïta - France Saint-Étienne
1971 1st Ghana Ibrahim Sunday - Ghana Asante Kotoko
1972 1st Guinea Chérif Souleymane - Guinea Hafia
1973 1st Zaire Bwanga Tshimen - Zaire TP Mazembe
1974 1st Paul Moukila - Congo CARA Brazzaville
1975 1st Ahmed Faras - Morocco Mohammédia
1976 1st Cameroon Roger Milla - Cameroon Tonnerre Yaoundé
1977 1st Tunisia Tarak Dhiab - Tunisia Espérance Tunis
1978 1st Ghana Karim Abdul Razak - Ghana Asante Kotoko
1979 1st Cameroon Thomas N'Kono - Cameroon Canon Yaoundé
1980 1st Cameroon Jean Manga-Onguéné - Cameroon Canon Yaoundé
1981 1st Algeria Lakhdar Belloumi - Algeria GC Mascara
1982 1st Cameroon Thomas N'Kono - Spain Espanyol
1983 1st Egypt Mahmoud El Khatib - Egypt Al Ahly
1984 1st Cameroon Théophile Abega - France Toulouse
1985 1st Morocco Mohamed Timoumi - Morocco AS FAR
1986 1st Morocco Ezzaki Badou - Spain Mallorca
1987 1st Algeria Rabah Madjer - Portugal Porto
1988 1st Zambia Kalusha Bwalya - Belgium Cercle Brugge
1989 1st Liberia George Weah - France Monaco
1990 1st Cameroon Roger Milla - Réunion Saint-Pierroise
1991 1st Ghana Abedi Pele - France Marseille
1992 1st Ghana Abedi Pele - France Marseille
1993 1st Ghana Abedi Pele - France Marseille
1994 1st Liberia George Weah - France Paris Saint-Germain
1995 1st Liberia George Weah - Italy Milan
1996 1st Nigeria Nwankwo Kanu - Italy Internazionale
1997 1st Nigeria Victor Ikpeba - France Monaco
1998 1st Morocco Mustapha Hadji - Spain Deportivo La Coruña
1999 1st Nigeria Nwankwo Kanu - England Arsenal
2000 1st Cameroon Patrick M'Boma - Italy Parma
2001 1st Senegal El Hadji Diouf - France Lens
2002 1st Senegal El Hadji Diouf - England Liverpool
2003 1st Cameroon Samuel Eto'o - Spain Mallorca
2004 1st Cameroon Samuel Eto'o - Spain Barcelona
2005 1st Cameroon Samuel Eto'o - Spain Barcelona
2006 1st Ivory Coast Didier Drogba - England Chelsea
2007 1st Mali Frédéric Kanouté - Spain Sevilla
2008 1st Togo Emmanuel Adebayor - England Arsenal
2009 1st Ivory Coast Didier Drogba - England Chelsea
2010 1st Cameroon Samuel Eto'o - Italy Internazionale
2011 1st Ivory Coast Yaya Touré - England Manchester City
2012 1st Ivory Coast Yaya Touré - England Manchester City
2013 1st Ivory Coast Yaya Touré - England Manchester City
2014 1st Ivory Coast Yaya Touré - England Manchester City
2015 1st Gabon Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang - Germany Borussia Dortmund
2016 1st Algeria Riyad Mahrez - England Leicester City


1958 -1980


How Seriously Sick is the Sierra Leone President Julius Maada Bio?

Asks Pastor Mohamed Sesay, Guest Editor (14/08/18)

The rumour mill has gone overdrive recently regarding the health of the Sierra Leone Head of State. Now questions are being asked.

Read more ...


Should the Innocent Suffer for the Wicked? - A Test Case for President Bio!

By the Ranger (14/08/18)

It is hoped that the new direction by the SLPP government will usher in a new system where the wicked pay the price and the innocent placated.

Read more ...


Designed by (((alphadalpha)))
Designed by (((alphadalpha))) / WEBHOST DRAGON
Designed by (((alphadalpha)))